h1

A Day at the Beach

April 28, 2009

[Editor’s note: I meant to post this last week.  I’m not sure why it didn’t go up.]

Nothing is ever easy.

The end of the movie calls for Shooter and Angel to sit on the beach, watching the sun set over the water.

Being in Los Angeles, this seemed like a simple proposition.  We’re on the west coast, the sun sets in the west; ergo, we go to the beach and roll.

Yesterday, I found, to my surprise, that this is not necessarily so.  I stood on the sand next to the Venice pier, looking out at the horizon, and the sun was to my back.

Turns out, Venice beach curves around like a crecent moon, and we were basically facing southeast.

So, we packed up and moved waaaay down the beach, and managed to at least get the sun setting behind the mountains.  Not exactly what I’d planned, but it still turned out looking pretty.  I think it worked out okay.

Leave a Reply

