h1

First Day Complete!

April 6, 2009

We’ve wrapped our first day’s worth of shooting.

Amazingly, we had all but one member of our cast on location Saturday night.  (Becca wasn’t acting, but she was there.)  Five of the actors were SWF (start-work-finish on the same day), which is kind of impressive, if you haven’t read the script.

The performances were excellent all around.  I’m especially impressed with Blaine and Gildart, who played a rather hard scene together, never having met each other before Saturday night.

Our crew was great.  Everyone pitched in and no one complained (to me, anyway).  There was a little bit of trouble with the generator at the beginning of the night, but the guys worked through it, and we caught up.  We missed maybe one shot, and it’s a very easy one to pick up elsewhere.

I should give special mention to Mike, our B-camera operator.  I only met him the day before the shoot, but boy am I glad I did.  He not only operated smoothly, he helped with grip and electric, too.  I’m not sure we would have made our night without him.

I think everything looks fantastic.  Danny is definitely creating the look I wanted for this, and he’s doing it on time and on budget.  Pretty much everything you need in a DP.

Now that I’ve got some sleep, I need to work on the next draft of the script.  The flashback scenes late in the film need some work.  It’s my own fault, of course; I shoulda done it right the first time.

2 comments

  1. well then i guess it’s a good thing i abandoned you guys


  2. Thank you for the kind words, sir. I hope to make it back out to help soon, once my back is healed. Probably won’t be this weekend, but hopefully the next one.



Leave a Reply

