h1

Listing Shots, Continued

March 2, 2009

I’ve added more to the shotlist page.  As you can see, I’m more than halfway done.

I once had a cinematography professor tell me that I should figure out how I would light a scene if I only had one light, and how I would cover a scene if I could only get one shot.

Of course, he wasn’t advocating that I remake Rope every day on set.  It’s just a different way of looking at your scene.  A mental exercise that helps you focus on what you really need.

It also helps avoid the standard shooting style of wide shot, two shot, close up, close up.  In the rush of production, that’s the standard we all default to.  These shotlists (and eventual storyboards), will help me conceive of me other, hopefully more interesting ways to shoot, when I have the time and energy to do so.

Leave a Reply

