h1

Good Luck Alligator

February 2, 2009

The Good Luck Alligator has appeared in almost all of my movies.  The exceptions, unsurprisingly, were unmitigated disasters.

The Good Luck Alligator is a puppet I’ve had since I was a kid.  In fact, Lucky may not even be mine.  He might be a hand-me-down from one or more of my siblings. Lord knows a lot of my clothes and toys were.

I used to have this big tin, like the kind you get with novelty popcorn, that held all of my stuffed animals.  Lucky, for some reason, never wound up inside the tin.  He was always on top.  I remember falling asleep watching him, his big glass eyes staring at me, his mouth gaping open.

Which is actually a little terrifying, now that I think of it.

Anyway, for some reason in the fall of 2001, I decided to take my Good Luck Alligator to college.  We thought it’d be funny to throw him into When Sorority Girls Attack.

He wound up in the background of a lot of my student films.  The only time he didn’t was a sitcom that I produced.  It was set in a newsroom, and there was no way to justify putting him somewhere.  Needless to say, the show flopped.

After college, I once again tempted fate by not including him in Good Intentions.

I learned my lesson.  I made sure to include him in both The Runner and the Monster ads.

Now, I just have to figure out how to get him into a noir film.

One comment

  1. noirs usually include walks down dark alleys – why not include him on top of a pile of trash?



Leave a Reply

