h1

Practicality

January 26, 2009

When you write an independent movie, you have to consider practicalities: limited locations, limited cast, limited action. Basically, you want to write two people talking in a room.

Ethan Hawke can't believe Uma Thurman agreed to be in a movie with him.

Ethan Hawke can't believe Uma Thurman agreed to be in a movie with him.

I didn’t follow the rules strictly, but still, a good quarter of the movie is Shooter moping around in his apartment. I thought I’d be okay.

After last week’s disastrous location scout, I’ve come to realize I wasn’t quite as practical as I thought. To avoid paying for locations, I’m going to have to rewrite the opening scenes to take place where can actually film them.

At first, I thought this isn’t a big deal. The locations weren’t particularly important to the story or the theme. They just seemed like cool places to shoot.

I realize now that I’m faced with a crisitunity. Since I’m going to rewrite the scenes to fit the new locations, I can come up with meaningful ones.

Now I just have to figure out what that meaning is.

One comment

  1. […] this confirms my thinking that I’ll have to rewrite the […]



Leave a Reply

