h1

Second Location Scout FAIL

January 21, 2009

It used to be so easy.  Back when I was a film student, I’d just grab a camera and some friends, and we’d shoot.  End of story.

Over the long weekend, I decided I’d look for some more locations, specifically for the scene where Shooter steals Carson’s phone.

At the first building I went to, a security guard came out and told me I couldn’t take pictures of it.  Security reasons, apparently.

I took a picture of him, for good measure.

I took a picture of him, for good measure.

The next building I came to, security told me I couldn’t take pictures of the lobby from the sidewalk.  Aparently, he doesn’t understand either community property laws or the properties of light.

See?  I was able to take a picture.

See? I was able to take a picture.

At the next spot, I could see the security guards eyeballing me, and I gave up, for fear that I might be linked to some terrorist plot.

In the end, I was able to find an acceptable rooftop on the USC campus, but at this point, I feel like I may have to actually get permission before I just shoot there.  Which will be kinda weird.

It'll look scarier at night.

It'll look scarier at night.

2 comments

  1. […] and Gun and Run Again As I said yesterday, I used to be able to shoot wherever, whenever.  This was partly due to the fact that I was young […]


  2. […] last week’s disastrous location scout, I’ve come to realize I wasn’t quite as practical as I […]



Leave a Reply

